Purchasing a recreational vehicle (RV) is a great way to see and explore more of Arizona. Before you invest in an RV, however, you need to know the state’s insurance requirements. Failing to comply with the required types and amounts of insurance for an RV in Arizona could result in legal trouble, such as a fine and the suspension of your vehicle’s registration.
Yes, RV insurance is a legal requirement in the State of Arizona. Like other types of vehicles, RVs require proper insurance coverage before they can be registered in Arizona if they have a motor and are drivable. Nonmotorized recreational vehicles, such as pop-up campers or travel trailers, do not require insurance. Being caught operating a motorized RV without the proper insurance can lead to fines and other penalties.
The types and amounts of insurance that are required for an RV in Arizona depend on the type of RV or trailer being insured. Most RVs fall into the categories of Class A, B or C motorhomes. These are motorized, independent vehicles that are capable of moving under their own power. For this reason, the minimum required insurance matches that of other motor vehicles in the state:
Nonmotorized RVs or trailers do not need their own insurance. They will fall under the insurance coverage of the vehicle that is towing them. If you own a nonmotorized RV, you may wish to purchase additional coverage to make sure you have enough if your property gets damaged in an accident.
Insurance prices can vary significantly based on factors that are unique to the purchaser. Some of these factors include the address listed on the RV’s registration, the area’s crash risk rating, the owner’s history of car accidents and moving violations, the average number of miles driven in the RV per year, the age of the RV, and the desired size of the deductible.
Purchasing the minimum required amounts of RV insurance typically costs around $800 to $1,000 per year. The price will increase if you choose to purchase add-ons, such as total loss replacement, roadside assistance or medical payment insurance. Buyers can shop around and request free quotes from different insurance providers to find the best price.
If you are just passing through Arizona in your RV and do not plan on maintaining a permanent residence in the state, your out-of-state RV insurance will satisfy Arizona’s requirements. However, if you wish to register an RV in Arizona, you must be insured by a company that is licensed in the state. This may mean upgrading your coverage types and amounts to match Arizona’s requirements, depending on the laws in your home state.
If you get involved in an RV accident in Arizona, the state’s fault-based car insurance law will require the driver or party who is responsible for causing the crash to pay for related medical bills and property damage. It is up to you or your Scottsdale car accident attorney, however, to prove that the other driver is at fault for the crash. If you are found to be at fault for the collision or the other driver does not have enough insurance, your own insurance may pay instead.