Kidnapping is defined by A.R.S. § 13-1304, which states that a person commits kidnapping by knowingly restraining another person with the intent to:
If you or a loved one is facing kidnapping charges in Arizona, speak with a Phoenix kidnapping attorney as soon as possible. The kidnapping lawyers at Stone Rose Law offer free consultations and are standing by to help. Call our local law office at (480) 498-8998.
Kidnapping is usually a class 2 felony. However, suppose the perpetrator releases the victim voluntarily without physical injury in a safe place before an arrest and before accomplishing any of the enumerated objectives detailed above. In that case, it is a class 4 felony. Meanwhile, if the victim is released pursuant to an agreement with the state and without any physical injury, the offense is considered a class 3 felony. If the victim is under 15 years of age, then it is a class 2 dangerous crime against children. A conviction of this carries a mandatory prison sentence that must run consecutively to any other sentence imposed on the defendant. A person convicted of kidnapping is required to register as a sex offender for a minimum of 10 years any time the victim is under 18 years of age, and the child’s parent did not commit the kidnapping. If you are facing kidnapping charges and have questions about the penalties you face, speak with a Phoenix criminal attorney experienced in defending against kidnapping charges.
Regardless of the alleged victim’s age or the class of felony involved, kidnapping is a very serious offense that cannot be taken lightly. If you are charged with kidnapping in Arizona, you need experienced and aggressive representation to protect your rights. Call Stone Rose Law now for a free consultation with a skilled Phoenix kidnapping attorney.